The Benefits of a Workout Buddy

sport-927760_960_720

January 27, 2017

I’d like to pretend that I’m an absolute fitness buff, that I’m 100% motivated all the time, and that nothing gets in my way of achieving my fitness goals. That would be a blatant lie, however. Like all humans, I’m filled with flaws, one of them being not wanting to work out as scheduled. That’s where my workout buddy comes in.

I never intended for her to be my fitness pal. It just so happened that we enjoy keeping ourselves looking good. She keeps me moving and I do the same for her. It’s sometimes said that people don’t like watching others succeed. I do not believe that’s inherently true. And by that, I mean that not wishing the best for a friend comes from a lower state of mind. People naturally desire cooperation, to flourish and grow. There are times when we push each other to lift harder, to run longer. There also exists times when we eat six churros each!

Now, that’s not to say you should look to make a friend solely for the intention of working out with them. Exercise should be one of many things you enjoy doing together. To those that stick entirely to their convictions with working out, I applaud you. I wish I had your tenacity, and I may in time. But for those that certainly appreciate the extra push, I hope this proves useful.

Namaste,

V

Leave a Reply

