Respecting Your Body’s Limits

April 18, 2017

We don’t always reach our goals.

Roughly two weeks ago, I planned to go on a two mile run. The first mile was amazing and went by without too much issue. As I started the second mile, a massive pain rang through my right ear. I tried running through it but the discomfort was too great. I walked the second mile back to my dorm and was disappointed in myself. But while doing my followup yoga routine, I realized it’s important to respect my limits. While on a normal day a two mile run is just fine, sometimes it won’t be. The body is a unique machine and it occasionally has its hiccups. Instead of forcing your body to do what it’s incapable of for one day, understand it won’t always be perfect.

Now, that doesn’t mean we get to give up on our goals, sell ourselves short, or stop when we don’t feel like finishing a workout. Perseverance is a good trait and we should always strive to do our best and reach our goals. But sometimes, it’s better to go for that goal the following day.

How do you feel about your off days? I’d love to know.

Namaste,

V

Leave a Reply

